Oh crap. Science is gonna make us SuperFit

There seems to be no doubt that scientists are in the final lap of being able to control how our bodies look and, to some degree, function.  Get science feeds like I do and every day be amazed by articles describing discoveries that will eventually enable bodies to maintain muscle mass without exercising and not allow fat to store.

Sure the goal now is to combat diseases such as diabetes and sarcopenia, but we all know that it won’t be long before such technologies will be used for aesthetics (and even legitimately for fitness).

I’m sure this makes everyone very happy.  Everyone but me, that is.

Athletic competition, the pursuit of fitness, exercising, high intensity training, yoga — all of those things have molded me into the person that I am today.  I have a self-reliance and confidence I could not have obtained through a fat pill or genetic re-engineering.

I encounter people all day long who have absolutely no curiosity about their vessels (bodies) and don’t think there’s anything wrong with that.  To me and a few others, that’s like having a Maeserati and never going over 55 mph.

To each his own, I guess.  I’m not one to force my experiences onto everyone else as I don’t like when others do that to me.  Just know that in a few years, when there is absolutely no need for it, I will still be lifting, Astrid will still be doing pilates, Justin will still be tri-training, Mark will still be doing feats of strength, all as if our lives depended on it.  Because really they do.

For the rest of you, enjoy.


On-off switch to burning stored fat found by scientists
Date:
June 5, 2014
Source:
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Summary:
Scientists’ discovery of how white fat cells are converted to beige, and the on-off switch for the process, could lead to novel diabetes and obesity drugs. “Understanding how beigeing is controlled is so very important because if we can improve energy expenditure, we can reduce obesity,” the lead author said.

Read more here.

Leave a Reply

